Disaster strikes Oklahoma

Lowcountry Kayaker's picture

Twice in the past seven days, President Obama has designated Oklahoma counties as major disaster areas.

On February 15th, President Obama declared:

"... a major disaster exists in the State of Oklahoma and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms and tornadoes during the period of February 10-11, 2009.

The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected individuals in the counties of Carter, Logan, and Oklahoma."


And on February 17th, he signed an executive order that included the following:


Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storm in the counties of Adair, Cherokee, Delaware, and Hughes. Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide. Douglas G. Mayne has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area. FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.